The mystery of egg boiling

While boiling some eggs for my Ploughman’s bento I began to ponder a question.

It may seem so simple and something that doesn’t even need thinking about but I started thinking on how, exactly, do you boil an egg?

Laugh if you will but I believe to know you know nothing is the first step to real learning so packing my pride away I looked it up.

When I looked I found a method which looked interesting and though sceptical, I tried it.

I have used it a couple of times now and it works consistently well.

The egg yolks come out so creamy too! ^___^

All credit to http://www.howtoboileggs.net for this.

For a hard boiled egg put the eggs, in a single layer, in cold water an inch above them in a saucepan and boil.
(Use boiled water from a kettle to speed things up for the morning bento.)

When the water is boiling, put a lid on the pan and turn the heat off.

Leave for 12 minutes and voila!

Of course you can leave your eggs to cook for only 3 minutes etc for eggy soilders and such but I was particularly interested in hard boiled for lunch boxes.

Put them in a bowl of cold running water to stop them cooking then peel that pesky egg!

A couple of tips on peeling an egg shell from an egg I’ve noticed are:

rolling an egg along a counter is great for breaking up the egg shell,

finding the thin white layer on eggs makes it easy to peel from

and lastly,

always use the side of your thumb for peeling, not your nails.

Hope I’ve enlightened someone 😉

-Pepper

2 thoughts on “The mystery of egg boiling

Leave a comment for Pepper!

