Richard Corrigan’s Cookery School Carpaccio of Mushrooms Recipe

Hi there everyone!

Recently I have been watching a show called “Cookery School” which features some delicious recipes made by Richard Corrigan.

I hadn’t heard of him before I watched the show but his style and what he put on to a plate made me a fan!

Being a farmers boy, grafting and having a real respect for all food, never wasting it, is something I can really admire!

After scouring around the internet and finding that a few but not all of my favourite recipes were on the internet, I decided to get the book!

Cookery School

I will admit, I did this recipe just relying on the shows demonstration without any real measurements but since the shows are all cut a lot it’s not too reliable!

Everything I did was about right though if I could do it again I would use more lemon as the actual recipe states instead of watching just half a lemon being squeezed over!

The recipe I was most interested in eating right away was a carpaccio of mushrooms that was served with pepper crusted Tuna and Beignets.

I loved the idea of thinly sliced mushrooms instead of the usual meat and that they require no cooking, the lemon juice does all of the work!

Carpaccio of Mushrooms Platter
Carpaccio of mushrooms

Carpaccio of Mushrooms CU

Serves 2

Ingredients
2 tablespoons olive oil
Juice of one lemon
Freshly ground salt and pepper
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
150g large chestnut mushrooms, very thinly sliced
Method
Lay a piece of greaseproof paper on a baking sheet and drizzle with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, half the lemon juice and season with salt and pepper.

Scatter over half of the thyme leaves and place the sliced mushrooms on top.

Drizzle another 1 tablespoon of olive oil, the remaining lemon juice and season with salt and pepper.

Scatter over the remaining thyme leaves and then place another sheet of greaseproof paper on top.

Position a heavy weight, such as a saucepan filled with water, on top and set aside for 20-30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Carpaccio of Mushrooms

Carpaccio of Mushrooms  Cookery School

Leave a comment for Pepper!

