Eggless Pancakes with Raspberry & Blueberry Couli Recipe

I love a good pancake.

Being a family with no car though, I rarely buy eggs.

The chances of them being destroyed in transit are quite high and liquid eggs I have found are twice the price!

So, without eggs, pancakes are just about off the menu, well that’s what I thought anyway!

Behold, the eggless pancake!!!

Pancakes with Raspberry & Blueberry Couli

Even though I love pancakes, the only time I got to eat them was on pancakes day when my father celebrated and made them for the children, so 10 years later I attempted my own for the first time and I’m quite proud of the results!

I made a delicious jewel like couli for my pancakes by reducing down raspberries and blueberries with a sprinkle of sugar and water.

Eggless Pancakes
Serves 6/8 pancakes
Ingredients

115g plain flour
1 teaspoon granulated white sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
255ml milk, any will work, whole is best.
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon oil & more for frying

 

Method

Measure flour, sugar and baking powder into a large bowl.

Mix oil, water and milk together and slowly pour into the dry mix, whisking all the time.

When it has come together into a smooth batter, heat a frying pan on a medium heat.

Add a little cooking oil in a thin coating and when heated, add in 6 tablespoons of batter.

Tilt the pan so that the batter is covering the entire bottom of the pan.

Fry without moving until the very edges of the pancake look crispy.

Flip the pancake over or get a spatula or palette knife right under the pancake and turn.

Cook on opposite side until browned and slip on to a plate.

Continue until all the batter is used up, piling each pancake onto the next to keep them moist, serve with a delicious berry couli on top or roll them up with it inside!!

Leave a comment for Pepper!

