Yakitate!! Japan, Microwave Sesame Seed Bread Recipe!

Hey there everyone!

I recently read a manga I happened to come across called Yakitate!! Ja-pan, Yakitate meaning freshly baked and Ja-pan being a pun on Japanese Bread (pan means bread in Japanese)!

Of course, being a lover of all things food and also of many of the heart-warming stories from Japan I started reading and got hooked!

yakitate

The story is full of humour, teaching, as well as a love, passion and determination for bread that is sure to inspire.

There are even recipes spread throughout so you can create some of the same bread they’re eating!

I also discovered that there was an anime made of it that very closely matches the manga, up to the start of the second series I read anyway!

Be wary though, there are many puns as you can imagine by the title, a lot of them can leave you a little puzzled if you’re not fluent in Japanese!

Still not all humour will be lost to you, the reactions to the heavenly bread they make will be sure to get you giggling!

I wonder if there is any real life merit to this croissant idea, not for the free trip to the moon of course!

As I mentioned earlier, there are recipes throughout the manga, as well as having some in the show and I would be out of my mind if I didn’t try one!

This recipe is from Volume 9, Chapter 72: Conserve Your Electrons!

For this recipe you will need a microwave that can adjust it’s wattage!

This bread needs no kneading and is ready really quickly!

Ja-pan 3

Microwave Bread, Ja-pan number 3!!!
Makes 4 rolls

Ja-pan 3 CU

Ingredients

Bread flour (or self raising) 100g
Milk 75ml (Water works too!)
Unsalted butter 8g
Salt 1g
Instant yeast 4g
Granulated white sugar 9g
Black sesame seeds (I used white)

Method

Place the butter and milk in the microwave at a medium/high setting of 600 watts, microwave for 30 seconds.

Beat the mixture until it is warm but not hot to the touch.

To this mix, add in the salt, sugar, 35 grams of the flour and yeast, combine!

Add in the rest of the flour and mix.
Do not knead!

Cover the dough with greaseproof paper and heat it for 30 seconds on a low setting, 200 watts.

Divide the dough into 4 pieces and shape each into a ball.

Cover with greaseproof paper and a wet cloth and let rest for 10 minutes.

Gently press each roll to release gas and shape into balls again.

Microwave for 30 seconds on 200 watts again!

Press the seeds gently into the rolls surface.

Preheat oven to 200oC.

Cover with greaseproof paper and a wet cloth for another 10 minutes.

Transfer to a baking tray and bake for 10 minutes!

Ja-pan 3 RLThis bread is so soft it is unbelievable!

I almost had my own reaction!!!

10 thoughts on “Yakitate!! Japan, Microwave Sesame Seed Bread Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Are You Curious This Bread Was Made In A? - What's On The List?

  2. Pingback: Are You Curious This Bread Was Made In A? | What's On The List?

    • Yay! I am so glad it brightened your day and you haven’t even tasted the bread yet!

      They’re gorgeous little puffy clouds of deliciousness!

      Do let me know if you try them, I’d love to know how they work out for you! 😀

      Like

Leave a comment for Pepper!